Table 1

Semi-structured interview expert panel (listed alphabetically)

ExpertInstitutionRolePatient safety and reporting system expertiseCountry
Professor James BagianAnn Arbor University of MichiganDirector of Center for Healthcare Engineering and Patient Safety
  • Chief Patient Safety Officer and Founding Director of the National Center for Patient Safety for Department of Veterans Affairs 1999–2010

  • NASA Aerospace Advisory Panel 2006–2014

  • Over 10 years experience in developing reporting systems

Professor G. Ross BakerUniversity of TorontoProfessor of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation
  • Professor and Program Director, MSc. Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

  • Steering Committee Member for Safer Healthcare Now (National Patient Safety Program) 2005–2010

  • Co-Chair Methods and Measures for Patient Safety WHO 2005–2009

Professor David BatesHarvard Medical SchoolProfessor of Medicine
Professor of Health Policy and Management
  • Chief Quality Officer Brigham and Women's Hospital 2011–2014

  • President of the International Society for Quality in Healthcare 2013–2014

  • Chairman of the American Medical Informatics Association 2008–2009

Professor Liam DonaldsonImperial College LondonChair in Health Policy
  • WHO envoy for patient safety

  • Chief Medical Officer for England 1998–2010

  • Chairman of the National Patient Safety Agency and Founder of the National Reporting and Learning System

Professor Wilson PaceUniversity of ColoradoProfessor of Family Medicine
  • Director of DARTNet (research network that includes electronic health records, claims and patient outcomes)

  • Committee for Institute of Medicine: studying medication errors

  • Taxonomy development for adverse events

Professor Peter PronovostJohns Hopkins School of MedicineProfessor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine, Surgery, Nursing
  • Chairman of ICU Advisory Panel for Quality Measures of the Joint Commission

  • Chairman of the ICU Physician Staffing Committee for the Leapfrog Group

  • Member of the Quality Measures Work Group of the National Quality Forum

  • Senior Vice President for Patient Safety and Quality and Director of the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality Johns Hopkins

Professor Bill RuncimanUniversity of South AustraliaProfessor of Patient Safety and Healthcare Human Factors
  • President of the Australian Patient Safety Foundation 1988–2014

  • Founder of the Advanced Incident Management System (national incident system)

  • On the Australian Council for Safety and Quality in Health Care and the Australian Health Information Council

Professor Kaveh ShojaniaUniversity of TorontoDirector of the Center for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
  • Canada Research Chair in Patient Safety and Quality Improvement

  • Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto

  • Editor-in-chief, British Medical Journal Quality & Safety

Professor Andrew SmithUniversity of LancasterProfessor of Clinical Anaesthesia
  • Director of the Lancaster Patient Safety Research Unit

  • Part of the joint National Patient Safety Agency/Royal College of Anaesthetists’ ‘Safe Anaesthesia Liaison Group’

  • Involved in producing the Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology

Professor Charles VincentUniversity of OxfordHealth Foundation Professor, Department of Experimental Psychology
  • Involved in implementation and advisor for the National Reporting and Learning System

  • Director of the National Institute of Health Research Center for Patient Safety & Service Quality at Imperial College Healthcare Trust.

  • Commissioner on the UK Commission for Health Improvement 1999–2003

Professor Robert WachterUniversity of CaliforniaProfessor and Associate Chairman of the Department of Medicine
  • Lead for the AHRQ Patient Safety Network

  • Chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine 2013–2014

  • Member of the Board, Lucian Leape Institute of the National Patient Safety Foundation.

Professor Cordula WagnerVU University Medical CenterProfessor of Patient Safety
  • Head of Quality and Organization of hospital- and long-term care at NIVEL Netherlands Institute for Health Services Research

  • Responsible for the National Patient Safety Research Program in the Netherlands

  • Head of the patient safety research centre ‘Safety 4 Patients’, a collaboration of EMGO+ and NIVEL

Dr. Saul WeingartTufts Medical CenterChief Medical Officer and Senior Vice President of Medical Affairs
  • Vice President for Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

  • Chair of the Board of Governors at the National Patient Safety Foundation

  • Editorial advisory boards of the Joint Commission Journal on Quality and Patient Safety

Professor Albert WuJohns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public HealthProfessor of Health Policy and Management and Medicine
  • Director, Center for Health Services and Outcomes Research

  • Member of the Institute of Medicine committee on identifying and preventing medication errors

  • Senior Adviser for Patient Safety to WHO 2007–2009